WE COLLECT ON-SITE EXPERIENCE, OBSERVE PROCESSES AND RECOMMEND PROCESS OPTIMIZATION AND REORGANIZATION PLANS, WHICH WE IMPLEMENT TOGETHER.

Case Study - Processes

Logo Hopital du Jura.jpg

Hôpital du Jura

Starting Point:

While exploring the possibility of expanding, while also facing increasing operating costs, the Hôpital du Jura commissioned Muller Healthcare Consulting to examine its wards’ organization and procedures and to develop a proposal for improvements.

 

Methodology:

To understand processes, one must take part in them.

As in all our process optimization projects, we accompanied staff at the Hôpital du Jura, observing and recording their daily operations. Together with trained nursing staff, doctors and logistic specialists, we then identified confounding factors.

Muller Healthcare Consulting subsequently organised several appointments for management personnel to visit other hospitals. This was a means for the management personnel to exchange experiences with other hospital staff. In this way, staff were able to identify the best practices as well as draw conclusions for their own projects. The patient pathway was determined in interactive workshops, wherein medical, nursing and logistic processes were then developed. This methodology resulted in a completely new, patient-oriented reorganisation of the Hospitals’ procedures. Based on these procedures, we simulated optimum ward sizes and determined their operating costs. Similarly, we redefined the skill and grade mix, as well as the rotas.

hospital du Jura Prozessoptimierung FR.p

Result:

The redefined processes are consistently patient-oriented and will result in a sustainable increase in the competitiveness of the cantonal hospital. Ward sizes were expanded from the original 18 beds to 36 and various measures were defined, to reduce the length of stay. The associated cost savings were partially re-invested into quality: on Muller Healthcare Consultings’ recommendation, quality management staff will be included in future plans. The new rotas allow the removal of 12-hour shifts and split shifts, thereby increasing staff satisfaction.

NOUS TAVAILLONS SUR PLACE, OBSERVONS VOS MÉTHODES DE TRAVAIL, ET VOUS RECOMMANDONS DES OPTIMISATIONS DE PROCESSUS ET DES RÉORGANISATIONS QUE NOS METTONS EN OEUVRE À VOS CÔTÉS.

Exemple pratique - Processus

Hôpital du Jura

Contexte initial:

En vue d’une nouvelle construction et en raison d’une pression croissante sur les coûts d’exploitation, l’Hôpital du Jura a chargé Muller Healthcare Consulting d’analyser les processus et l’organisation au sein des unités de soins et de soumettre des propositions d’amélioration.

 

Méthodologie:

Comprendre les processus, c’est y prendre part.

Comme dans tous nos projets d’optimisation, nous avons observé et enregistré les processus opérationnels en accompagnant le personnel soignant. Par la suite, les facteurs de perturbation ont été identifiés conjointement avec le personnel soignant, les médecins et les spécialistes logistiques.

Muller Healthcare Consulting a ensuite organisé des échanges d’expériences dans d’autres hôpitaux pour les cadres. La best practice a été identifiée et des conclusions ont été tirées. Lors des ateliers interactifs, le parcours du patient a été défini puis les processus médicaux, soignants et logistiques ont été dérivés. Cette méthodologie a permis une classification des processus totalement nouvelle et orientée vers le patient. Sur la base des procédures, la taille optimale des unités a été simulée et les frais d’exploitation dérivés. De même, la diversité des compétences (Skill- & Grademix) ainsi que les tableaux de services ont été redéfinis.

Résultat:

Les processus redéfinis sont orientés vers les patients et augmentent durablement la compétitivité de l’hôpital cantonal. L’unité comptant aujourd’hui 18 lits passera à 36 lits à l’avenir et des mesures diverses ont été appliquées afin de réduire la durée de séjour. Les économies liées à ces mesures ont été en partie réinvesties dans la qualité: des responsables de gestion de qualité ont été mandatés sur la recommendation de Muller Healthcare Consulting. Les nouveaux tableaux de services ont permis de supprimer les services de 12 heures ainsi que les services divisés, et ainsi d’augmenter la satisfaction des employés.